Cardiovascular Cell Biology and Systems Medicine

Our group studies the cell biology of cardiovascular diseases. We utilize a human model system of induced pluripotent stem cells (iPSCs) in combination with site-specific genome editing, as well as biochemical and systems biology approaches.

Using these tools, we investigate the function of genetic variants in heart diseases, such as dilated and hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (DCM/HCM), which are leading causes of heart failure world-wide. Specifically, we are focusing on the interdependencies between mitochondrial function, metabolism and cellular homeostasis in cardiomyocytes and the cardiac vasculature.

Our goals are to recapitulate and rescue disease phenotypes in our human model of iPSC-derived cells, to understand molecular functions in cardiac health and disease, and to assess novel therapeutic directions, integrating systems medicine approaches.

Contact
Dr. rer. nat. Antje Ebert
Dr. rer. nat. Antje Ebert
Group leader and CRC 1002-sub-project leader
Abteilung:
Cardiovascular Cell Biology and Systems Medicine
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
antje.ebert@med.uni-goettingen.de
E-Mail 2:        aebert@stanford.edu

Lab members

Asset Amenov
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
asset.amenov@med.uni-goettingen.de
Luca Avenali
PhD
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
luca.avenali@med.uni-goettingen.de
Yuanyuan Dai
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
yuanyuan.dai@med.uni-goettingen.de
Nadezda Ignatyeva
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
nadezda.ignatyeva@med.uni-goettingen.de
Shrivatsan Sampathkumar
M.Sci.
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
shrivatsan.sampathkumar@med.uni-goettingen.de
Ruheen Wali
B.Sci.
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
ruheen.wali@med.uni-goettingen.de
Hang Xu
Ph.D. student
Phone:
0551-39-66309
E-Mail:
hang.xu@med.uni-goettingen.de

Former lab members

Tatiana Pochechueva
Ph.D.
E-Mail:
tatiana.pochechueva1@med.uni-goettingen.de
Ronald Siaden-Ortega
B.Sci.
E-Mail:
r.siadenortega@stud.uni-goettingen.de
Additional information / Links